I am pleased that there have been few rules queries in the many e-mail
messages I have received about the rules. Most of the questions were
resolved with the errata sheet corrections. Nevertheless, a few issues
have arisen that do need clarification. I will continue to add to the
FAQ section as questions emerge.
The Status of Boer Units While Mounted.
Boer mounted units are peculiar since their status changes depending on
the circumstances. The following list of points summarizes the status
of Boer mounted units.
Boer mounted units may adopt any "formed" or "massed" formation and move
with the restrictions applied to those formations (e.g. no movement in
Dense Woods or Rough Ground). Note that when rolling on the Unit
Conduct Charts for movement/rallying that ALL Boer units are considered
in "skirmish order" if in melee in the open. This reflects the fact
that Boers hated melee contact especially if the terrain suited the
tactics of the British.
Target of shooting:
Boer mounted units are considered a "formed" or "massed" target for
shooting. If the unit dismounts it automatically becomes a skirmishing
Boer mounted units were not trained for "cavalry" type combat and
reviled melee at the best of times. Hence, Boer mounted units may not
charge a formed or massed target and never gain the +1 for being mounted
in the first turn of a melee. Again, note the -2 for "skirmishing" applied to ALL Boer units when rolling to rally on the Unit Conduct
Charts while in melee.
Exception to Target Priority Rules: Skirmishers, Native Units
Gone-to-ground, And Artillery/mg There has been some question as to whether a firer may fire past or over
such dispersed priority target to fire at a formed or massed secondary
Firers may fire past these priority - but dispersed - targets, but NOT
over them. Overhead fire is not permitted except to artillery
positioned on a hill or artillery targeting a unit on a hill.
Mounted Imperial Columns in Melee:
Do Imperial cavalry/camelry columns suffer the same negative effects
when charging/charged in melee in contact?
Yes. Imperial mounted units in column formation suffer the same
negative effects when charged or charging into melee contact as do
infantry. With the exception of being charged in the flank or rear -
which supercedes the effects of the column - other modifiers still
apply. For example, a cavalry column may still claim the "mounted +1" modifier for the first turn of melee contact.